Belonging and choosing related material

Q: I do advanced english and i need some help choosing my related texts. I’ve
chosen the following texts for belonging, could you please give me some
feedback on the choices i’ve made.. thanks!
Also could you give me some suggestions on any other texts that i could use..

Freedom Writers (movie)
The Simple Gift by Steven Herrick
Chinese Cinderella
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr
Memoirs of a Geisha
Little Princess

A: What’s your prescribed text? I usually make recommendations when I know that. I wouldn’t do Chinese Cinderella but you could do excerpts from Falling Leaves, the adult version that was abridged for kids. Is Judith Kerr a yound adolescent writer? If you’re doing advanced go for meatier texts.

Q: I was thinking of doing Freedom Writers and the Simple Gift by Steven
Herrick. Would those by sophisticated enough? Oh Judith Kerr isn’t a young
writer, but the book she has written “When hitler stole pink rabbit” is
about a little girl who suddenly realises that her world is changing due
to the effects of war. What about Memoirs of a Geisha?

A: Marcus Zuzak The Book Thief may be better. However, you’ve got two novels. You need to choose different text types. Just be careful. there are lots of suggestions at www.e-rudite.net.
Is The Simple Gift your prescribed text because it is on the list? You need to know this.
Memoirs of a Geisha would do the trick. It’s riveting but not great literature. That said it was hugely successful and I don’t think it would be chosen often. So it would probably be a good choice.
Freedom Writers sounds good.

3 thoughts on “Belonging and choosing related material

  1. Hi I am studying history and memory and I am having trouble selecting a related text.My core is The Queen by Stephens Frears, I have two possible related texts.
    1.Open by Andre Agassi autobiography
    2.Memoirs of a Geisha
    Not sure if either are appropriate . CAN YOU HELP???

    • I haven’t read the Agassi but from reviews I’ve seen it could be interesting in that his perception seems to undercut the public image which is part of the idea between history and memory. ‘Memoirs of a Geisha’ is a representation of a time in history and of a lifestyle so it should be fine. I hope this is the novel. You can’t do two films and the novel is better than the film made of it.

      If I’m right about the Agassi, I’d choose that. The film, ‘The Queen’, shows a public and private persona, which seems to be what the autobiography is doing.

Leave a comment