Advanced Module C: History and Memory

Q:
I’m currently doing Module C: History and Memory with The Fiftieth Gate by Mark Baker as my core text and am having difficulty synthesising it with my related text Shoah by Claude Lanzmann. I’m unsure whether I should analyse it as a whole with an analysis of one testimony in depth or three for comparison.

Also, for an upcoming assessment, we are required to integrate another text, as heard on the day, into our essay. I’m uncertain about what types of techniques I should be searching for.

A: I’d make it easier for yourself and find areas where there is common ground. You can be guided by looking for people, places and/or events. You can go either way. I’d prepare two throughly so that you have the material to use. Your primary focus in History and Memory is the prescribed text. The related material needs to be studied so that it supports what you want to say about the prescribed text.

the texts you use can’t be compared for techniques. Ideas may have common ground and so may content but composers will use different techniques to make their own meaning. What your teachers want you to do is recognise the techniques of an audio text in making meaning in relation to History and memory. Common audio techniques are pitch, volume, pause, pace, silence etc.

Leave a comment